- Call Customer Service:
All dogs 4 months of age and older in unincorporated Nevada County must be licensed with Nevada County within 30 days of being in the county.
Payment for your license is due within 30 days of the expiration of your current license. If you are licensing for the first time, you must purchase a license within 30 days of obtaining a pet over the age of 4 months or within 30 days of moving into Nevada County.
A late fee of $12 is added to the license fee if your license is not purchased by the due date.
Licenses may be purchased for up to 3 years, with fees charged accordingly, as long as the rabies vaccination is valid for the same period of time. Rabies laws state that the license term cannot exceed the rabies expiration date.
Multi-year licenses are only available if the rabies vaccination is current for the same time period. The license cannot be valid longer than the expiration of the rabies vaccination.